By Any Other Name...

Derrick Rose recently did an interview with ESPN where he talked about his return from his second major injury has been going and his affect to his game.

From the article:

"I'm good, man," Rose said. "I felt like I've been managing myself pretty good. I know a lot of people get mad when they see me sit out or whatever, but I think a lot of people don't understand that ... when I sit out it's not because of this year.

"I'm thinking about long term. I'm thinking about after I'm done with basketball. Having graduations to go to, having meetings to go to, I don't want to be in my meetings all sore or be at my son's graduation all sore just because of something I did in the past. [I'm] just learning and being smart."

Many people did NOT like hearing this at all for various reasons. Sports radio, social media and various columnists like notorious ranter Steve Rosenbloom were ready to share their opinions on him, particularly as a person.

To me, you call it what you will, but I'll call it what it is, hypocrisy

Here are three points to consider.

"I'm thinking about long term. I'm thinking about after I'm done with basketball."

Many people are worked up about his candidness in mentioning thinking his long term future and health after basketball. In many avenues of life, being considerate about what your long term goals are not only helps your future, but it also helps your present. Even more so when your goals involve physical exertion against the best athletes in the league. One quick criticism that people had suggested was that Rose needed to change his game. The speed and strength that he was playing at, with no balance or control, would end up shortening his career, many believed.

Now he mentions being considerate about that, and suddenly these people have a problem? Hypocrisy.

"I don't want to be in my meetings all sore..."

I admit, this is a little of a funny statement. I don't know that of all the things you look forward to in the future, if meetings would be something that I tend to consider or imagine when I'm planning my life. Once, I badly sprained my ankle enough that I needed to be on crutches for 3 days. I'm no athlete, but to this day, almost 15 years later, my ankle still has lingering soreness. I can't imagine what it would be like to have both ankles sprained. I can't imagine to have both ankles sprained and be asked to play at a level where you're helping your team, versus hurting them. I can't imagine the pre-treatment and post-treatment that starts to become necessary if you try playing through the injury, and it never fully heals.

Many of these people, how many people have played through an injury where the stakes have been high? Anyone? Not many from what I can see. Easier said than done. Hypocrisy.

A Contract for $95 Million Dollars

This one makes me laugh as well. People get so worked up about the amount of money athletes get paid. Although there are indirect ways that fans help make this possible, the negotiation of the deal is between the team's representation and the player's representation. At a basic level, fans aren't really "owned" anything. If a team chooses to grant him a lot of money, that's their prerogative. NBA contracts are hopeful that a player maintains a level of expectation, but there is always risk in a physical contact sport and they're all adults here. So, while it may be fun to break out his contract into $$$ per game, per minute, per point, etc. what's the big deal. If you feel like you are indirectly paying, then stop watching and stop supporting the team. 

One amusing notion is the fact that many people that likely spent time complaining on social media or sports radio, probably did so from their work computer or during work hours. Are you going to give back that money you spent on company time doing something other than work? Probably not. Hypocrisy.

The Harsh Reality

Haters gonna hate. In total, Rose has had 3 notable injury incidents, the first injury which largely kept him out, until the second injury (and first ACL tear) and then last year's injury which came during a forced attempt to play up to people's expectations. The optimism that many fans originally had when the team was fortunate enough to draft a local NBA superstar, quickly eroded over multiple seasons of the team not advancing far in the playoffs. Rose is at the point that no matter what spin, what PR coaching, or tactic is used, it will be spun against him. People are looking for ways to break him down more, until they are given what they believe they expect and deserve. He is in a no-win situation with those people, until he wins. And even if he does, it will only convert that question from "Why None?" to "Why Only One?".

On the injury front, this will only become a non-story if he's able to go multiple seasons without a major injury. We're years away from seeing how that plays out. For me, being able to see him play in games not only in March through June 2015, but in multiple seasons to come is important to me as a fan. Knowing that he is looking toward his future, and not just his short term goals makes me hopeful for his life after basketball. None of these people are going to look after Rose, if he breaks himself trying to live up to their opinions and expectations. I look forward to seeing how this plays out, and hope for a future where I get to ask him 15 years from now, if he is feeling sore during his meetings.

-- wake.eat.sleep