Day 12 In Review - Ghibli Museum

One of the first things that I bought when I started finalizing my trip was a ticket to the Ghibli Museum. Needless to say, I couldn't wait to go for the first time.

I did have a brief mention of Studio Ghibli when I saw their booth at this year's Tokyo Anime Fair. Here's the Anime News Network encyclopedia entry, and the Wikipedia entry. Now I should partially correct myself. Sometimes when I refer to Studio Ghibli, I reflexively mean to imply the Studio Ghibli / Miyazaki combination. Thus in that context, my first experience was with Princess Mononoke / Mononoke Hime.

The Japanese trailer:

Here's the English trailer:

[Princess Mononoke]

But to be perfectly accurate, my first Studio Ghibli film is one of the better films and stories that I've experienced: Grave of the Fireflies. A very well told story presented beautifully.

Okay, now back to the museum. Hayao Miyazaki has a particular vision on how accessible the museum could be. That sentiment is captured here. I would summarize it as a sentiment to have an inviting and dynamic museum. One that draws you into the mind and feelings of those presenting their work, but those not force you to view things statically.

One of the key differences of this museum over many others is the fact that there is a limit to the number of tickets that are sold on a given day. You are allowed to buy your tickets up to 3 months in advance. The key idea here is to allow people to fully enjoy all of the museum without having to worry about a large crowd.

Anyway, it's pretty easy to get out to the museum. Just a quick hop on a local train:

And you'll be in Mitaka in no time!

It's a nice little city.


Another morning, another quick breakfast. But what the heck is a black danish?

(Dark chocolate plus cheese apparently.)

Now, you could take a bus to the museum which could be a fun thing to do if you've brought some kids.

Otherwise, it's much prettier to walk over. Special sign posts help keep you on the right path.



I liked seeing these friends walking their bikes together.

I made it! But to one of the alternate entry points.

Totoro was manning the ticket window.

Here's the actual entrance:

Time for a quick story. As I mentioned above, in order to maximize the experience for visitors to the museum, a limited number of tickets are sold each day, and only a set number of people are allowed inside at a time. For every visitor that knew this in advance, there are those that must read about it in a travel book and try to make it a last minute visit. One of the fellows in the picture above was one such fellow visiting from Korea. It was quite an impressive attempt to tell his sob story. He was visiting for only a brief time. He was only one person. He wanted to only look for a short time. He wouldn't bother anyone. Unfortunately, he had very little ground to stand on. There were a good amount of people that were clearly from foreign countries such as myself that were able to appropriately get tickets ahead of time. I felt bad, but if you agree with the vision of the museum, it isn't so hard to get tickets ahead of time. Maybe he'll get another chance to go.

Your admission ticket is actually a strip from a Ghibli film. Once in the museum, there is really no set way that you are encouraged to go. In fact, perhaps you are encouraged to go in any set way that strikes your fancy. A lot of portions of the museum were interactive, where you were allowed to turn a level or turn a wheel. There was a mix of the museum that go over the animation process and how films work, and a large portion devoted to Ponyo. I definitely wanted to go to see this exhibit. Finally, your admission includes the chance to watch a Studio Ghibli short. The current film is about an elderly couple living in the mountains, living a pretty ordinary life, until they discover that the mice that live in their home have been participating in a local sumo tournament in the forest. You didn't need to understand Japanese to enjoy the film.

A quick trip to the bookstore and shop scored me some Ghibli loot.

Ponyo!

The short film

A museum photo book and the artist renditions

And I grabbed a random pack of film strips from 3 of my favorite Ghibli movies: Spirited Away, Howl's Moving Castle and Ponyo. Here's one:

There are no pictures allowed inside the museum, so the only pictures you'll see are from outside. It was quite refreshing not to have to navigate through people taking countless pictures. That being said, it was fun being able to take pictures here on the roof.

My "being a tourist" picture:

And more pictures from the rooftop:

Another section of the rooftop devoted to a different anime:

One last view on the way out. I had a really great time, and I can't wait to go back again.