Day 12 In Review - Ueno Park / Ueno Koen

A local person mentioned this park to me earlier in the trip, and I'm glad I took up her recommendation!

You may remember my earlier posts here and here.

A fraction of the people that awaited me at the park:

One of the many food stands that awaited me:

I forgot to look up this statue:

A really flashy juggler demonstrating his craft:

One of the temples:

Scenes from the park:




Lots of people out and about:

I think the only chance you have of meeting people at popular places and times is if you have a very specific meeting spot.

Some companies will send out a junior level employee to set up, and guard the spot that company folk will arrive at later. Here's an example of one poor fellow who was likely sent out that morning, and has been here ever since.

One of the park's most photogenic entryways:

Some older ladies that dressed up to hang out and watch sakura:

Did I mention that there are a lot of people out?

What company is this? I want to work for these guys!

They had the best "table" set ups.

Everyone enjoys sakura!

After all that walking, I'm getting really hungry! Time to hunt down some food.

French fries?

Fish? Is that dango on a stick?

Okomoniyaki?

Yakisoba?

Yakisoba...I choose you!!!

So much for that!

Some further exploring allowed me to find this:

A portion of the eternal flame.

I really like paper cranes.


If you look carefully, the actual temple is being renovated, so enjoy the fake backdrop in the meantime.

An interesting looking totem pole:

Some still photos from the video link at the beginning of the post:

Wall of lanterns:

A frog fountain. I just missed out on taking a picture of someone that was using the fountain to take a pretty funny picture. See if you are juvenile enough to figure out what it was.

I have no clue on what was going on here. Your guess is as good as mine on how this was all supposed to come together.

Next time I'm in Japan, I would definitely want to settle in for a picnic to view sakura. I can't wait!

And once again, the full set: