Day 13 In Review - Last Full Day

And just like that, the trip was practically over. Today was the last full day that I would be in Tokyo, and with it came the realization that all the souvenirs that I thought I could find, I really didn't find as easily as I thought I would. To be honest, I didn't really spend a lot of time window shopping either.

Well off to Akasaka-Mitsuke station.

(in the pedestrian tunnel of Akasaka-Mitsuke)

Originally, I had thought that Yotsuya station was a better station for me to use, but for most of the areas I frequented during the trip Akasaka-Mistuke was waaaaay more convenient.

Any way, off to Shibuya, Harajuku and Shinjuku to see if I can hunt down some targeted items for people back home. Additionally, since it was Holy Thursday, I would have to make it back in time for rehearsal, and Holy Thursday service. How did I do? Stay tuned!

Dean & Deluca:

Beard Papa's!!!

And Shibuya Crossing in the daylight:

I've often wondered if I'd enjoy riding a folding bike.

But then I see someone riding one, and they don't look very comfortable.

I thought school wasn't in session, but I did occasionally see folks in their school uniforms.

Time for some breakfast though.

The name of the place is Choco Cro, but you'll notice that I went with a strawberry one.

It looks like there was a live taping involving a popular boy group, and with a popular girl in attendance as well. The crowd was mostly girls watching.

Note the special pink / sakura lanterns in the distance.

Harajuku:

I noticed this on a post in Shinjuku.

There isn't a lot of instruction on what would happen if you called. Also, if you believe somehow that you would be talking to the girls on the flier, I'd like to arrange a meeting for you and the Easter Bunny.

This is a cool looking building up close.

Incidentally, when I went to Shinjuku, I chose my train exit poorly. I ended underneath Shinjuku and it felt like I was walking through for what seemed like an eternity.

Um. What the heck is this?

So Day 13 being Holy Thursday, I had already committed to singing along with the local choir for Holy Thursday service. We had practiced two other occasions and the music was relatively straightforward. There was a practice before the actual service, and I had every intention of making it back in time for the practice.

Except I didn't. One too many attempts at trying to find one last item, got me to the church right as the final practice ended. Still, the music was straightforward, right?

Well...I caught up with everyone, and we had time for pre-practice in the chapel. I had the following (paraphrased) conversation with the choir director.

Director: How is your voice feeling?
Wes: (thinking this had to do with me not warming up) Oh it's fine.
Director: Well, Takasaki-san couldn't make it. Can you cantor the Kyrie, and solo the first verse of the psalm?
Wes: Oh sure! (of course, I wouldn't have likely said no, but still.)

Both pieces should have been simple. Should have been. For whatever reason I was locked into the tenor part that I learned for the Kyrie. Embarrassingly, I kept on missing the cantor portion of the second verse of the Kyrie. In fact, it almost looked like I was never going to get it.

We left pre-practice, with me not having hit the second verse very cleanly. We spent some of the final moments before mass going over the part outside the chapel, and I finally got it! Whew.

(Sidenote: In an attempt to try a refreshing drink, I tried a drink called Pocari Sweat. DO NOT TRY THIS! It tastes like it sounds. Really.)

So the service starts. The Kyrie comes up.

First verse cantoring. Perfect.

Second verse cantoring?

PERFECT! (What a relief!)

Third verse cantoring? Wes sings the tenor part instead of the cantor part. OOPS!

I was so relieved, I let my guard down and I went into the part that I had practiced most. No harm no foul, as I think only a few people realized my goof, but I did apologize afterwards. The rest of the Holy Thursday service went fine. The choir did give me an omiyage (souvenir) to take home. The next time I visit, I'll have to bring one. They were such a good group and very nice to me. I said some final goodbyes, and it was off into the dark night again.

I did buy my NE'X (Narita Express) tickets in advance, but more on that in the next post.

Oh, here are those photographers waiting for the baseball players that I mentioned earlier:

Finally, one last trip into late night eats in Akasaka. After a little bit of wavering on whether to try something new, I went to try a different bowl of ramen instead.

This is probably one of best representations of what I would consider ideal elements of a ramen bowl for my tastes: Seaweed, bamboo shoots, bean sprouts, green onions, and pork! I certainly prefer a silkier, meaty broth. I actually ordered an extra side of meat which was delicious!

It's always nice to enjoy the ramen broth with a wooden spoon for some reason. Also, I think I stumbled into a somewhat notable ramen-ya, as I noticed some fellow patrons enjoying the same bowl, and photo documenting their experience like I was.

Well, one day left, and my first real trip to the land of the rising sun is over.

-- day 13 end --