Day 5 In Review (Part 1)

It's a final morning in Kyoto, before heading off to catch an afternoon train to Hiroshima. Time to sneak in some more exploring!

But first, time to power up with a light breakfast: melon pan and some vending machine cold canned coffee.


It was pretty convenient to have a small bakery in the underground station:

Though, if you wanted some food alternates, you could have had a soybar:

Or some ice cream?

I thought this was a pretty nice poster. Is it a watercolor?

Despite the occasional heavy rains or floods, I think we should always have more walkways near bodies of water, such as rivers or streams.

It's unfortunate that these people are living under the bridge. Hopefully, it's relatively safe for them even in bad weather.


I chuckled when I read the sign in their choice of sounds for "Yami". (Though any representation of soft serve yogurt in outline form always ends up looking like turd to me.)

Sakura along the stream:

So as I was strolling around trying to find the Catholic church that apparently was near the shopping district, I stumbled upon this (unmarked on tourist maps) shrine.


I wasn't about to eat breakfast, but then...



DAMN YOU plastic food displays! Um, Set A please!

And yes, I'll have your French Press coffee too. Alright! (Note the 3 minute glass to let you know when to press the coffee.)

After breakfast it was fun to see the various shopping centers/arcades come to life as the stores opened at 10 and 11 am.


This might be where James Franco bought his body pillow:

Um, what does this store sell?

OH, Coffee? Yeah that was my first guess too!

I found another shrine within the shopping district:



And took a brief stroll through their food and kitchenware shopping district, Nishijin:


Wow, that was a lot of fun. I did do a more concise summary of Kyoto earlier.

Off to Kyoto Station and to Hiroshima.

To be continued...