Day 6 In Review (Part 2)

So onward toward one of the UNESCO World Heritage sites!


I liked the entryway, and its stone guardians:


From this angle, it almost looks like there's enough water for the gate to float.

A lot of orange. This must have been really fun to see in candle or torchlight.


Make a donation, shake a marked stick out of a container, which will tell you what drawer to pull your paper fortune out from.

This looked like a wedding ceremony was going on, but I didn't want hang around too long to figure it out.

Um, is it obvious that I came during low tide?

Okay, enjoy a flurry of pictures of the Torii Gate!




You might be wondering, why did I feel like I was trying to escape from Miyajima island? Well, I had the ferry schedule...

...and I had arrived on the island around 10 am.

So I thought, oh hop back on the ferry listed at 11:55 am, right?

...except I somewhat ignored this note:

...which essentially says from December to February. So instead of leaving when I was expecting, I suddenly had another two hours to kill.

I'm trapped!

...to be continued...