Day 6 In Review (Part 3)

Hmm... Now that have an "extra" two hours. What to do? What to do?

Maybe hang out with the deer?

I elected to try to walk to Momijidani Park, and maybe the ropeway up to the summit of the mountain.

And so I walked...

...and walked...

...and walked some more...

...where the heck is this place?

...

...eventually, discretion became the better part of valor, and I decided to leave myself with enough time to get back to the dock.

I did encounter some interesting wildlife scenes along the way. Some deer enjoy a feast:

...courtesy of some local residents:

Also, what the heck is this?

A raccoon? A fox? A raccoon-fox?

Anyway, I made it back to town, and discovered their other claim to fame...A GIANT WOODEN SPOON!

Time for some lunch! Okonomiyaki, Hiroshima style! As opposed to the Osaka-style or Tokyo-style, this style is prepared in layers, with noodles part of the mix. I ordered mine with some fresh scallops adorning the middle.

It was fun to watch them cook, and even better when I finished the entire dish! Many will ask you if you prefer Osaka-style or Hiroshima-style. I want to have it a couple more times, but I am definitely leaning towards Hiroshima-style as my preference.

Finally, on my way back to the dock, it turned out that they were doing a princess (hime) kimono dressing ceremony. It was a very deliberate process, so I'll only share one of the pictures I took of this very very gradual process that involved many layers.

Once I made it back to Hiroshima Station (via ferry and bus), I found another one of my favorite snacks. Croquettes/Korokke!


And for one last time, it's time to hunt for a ekiben for the ride home. By the way, did I mention that Hiroshima really loves their baseball team?


They wore me down, and as a result, I selected a Hiroshima Carps ekiben. The Kenta and Kenta combo as it were. Quite a hearty ekiben!



...and we're heading back to Tokyo!

As it may be apparent, I really didn't formulate a cohesive itinerary outside of: go to Kyoto for at least 2 days, and be in Hiroshima for 2 days. That being said, I had a wonderful time looking at the past and present of Kyoto, Osaka, and Hiroshima. I saw a lot, but I definitely felt that I left a lot to explore and a lot left to eat! The wonderful train system made it remarkably easy to get around and in a comfortable quiet fashion as well.

On Day 7, we'll see how I survive the sushi making class I signed up for.

-- day 6 end ---