日本 4.0!!

By this time next week, I should be getting ready for bed after travelling for my 4th full trip to Japan.

DSC05146

Now that I've gone a couple of times, I think I have a reasonable grasp on the general logistics that I like having in place before I get there. 

Basically, it comes down to accommodation, transportation and connectivity.

Accommodation

Some people enjoy staying in very nice places on vacation. Some people are comfortable staying in hostels. Other people would prioritize proximity. I fall somewhere in between. I do enjoy staying at comfortable places that are accessible to a lot of things, but affordability in the key.

With this in mind, depending on where you are, here are some of my favorite places to stay based on experience and perceived value.

Cities: Kyoto, Osaka, Nagasaki

I've stayed at one at almost every trip I've been on. The rooms are comfortable, the amenities are nice and they are usually located in proximity of popular attractions. I left my camera battery charger in Nagasaki, and they were nice enough to route it back all the way to Tokyo.

Hotel Monterey Nagasaki

DSC05886

DSC05887

DSC05888

Cities: Tokyo (Ikebukuro, Shinjuku)

Anyone that tells you that the only cheap accommodations in Tokyo is either hostels or capsule hotels hasn't stayed at an "inn" or a "ryokan" yet. The bedrooms and bathrooms here are noticeably snug. However, the price is fantastic, and there is free breakfast at this particular chain. The thing about inns and ryokans is that you have to be out of your room at either 9 am or 10 am, and you can't return until about 4 pm. 

Cities: Tokyo (Shibuya)

This is pretty similar to the "inn" concept, but just at a higher level scale. All of the amenities are higher quality. The free breakfast is delicious and you'll have your choice between a traditional Japanese breakfast and a Western breakfast. You still can't hang out in your room during the day, but why would you want to?

Transportation

Depending on where you need to go, it will usually make sense to get a JR Pass. Which JR Pass you ultimately need to get will be dictated on where you are going and when. I've always gotten mine through my local JTB USA. I've only gotten the Ordinary Pass versus the Green Pass, since the Ordinary Pass is already quite comfortable for me.

For travel within cities other than Tokyo, it sometimes helps to find out if there is a day pass to use the local transportation. There's less to think about or calculate with that approach. 

In Tokyo, I've only used a cab once. I've usually relied on trains otherwise. If you're staying for a short period of time, and using the train a lot it will make a lot of sense to purchase a one or two day pass from the airport for either the entire JR system plus subways (Tokyo Furii Kippu) or just Tokyo Metro's 1-Day Open Ticket. Otherwise, if you bought a JR pass that hasn't expired yet, you'll likely use JR trains for the time being, and then switch to day passes and adhoc purchases as needed.

Connectivity

On my very first trip, I tried to rely on finding internet and that worked pretty terribly. Can you find free internet? Not usually. Even finding paid internet is not straightforward, and possibly even worse for those that have anxieties talking to people in a different language. 

On my second trip, I found out about Pocket WiFi rentals through companies like Global Advanced Communications, and I've never looked back since. It's pretty convenient that you can arrange to pick it up from the airport, and drop it off in the mailbox (at the airport) once you're done. Other than sections in Japan that didn't have strong WiFi signals, I was able to connect with no issues, even deep in the subway system.

#3dc

-- wake.eat.sleep