The Force of Nature

I didn't really talk about it too much, but I actually had a trip planned to Japan this week.

Thus, it was no surprise that I received a text from a close friend and a 5 am call from my mom once news got out about the earthquake and tsunami. Since then, I've been waking up extremely early, and absorbing a lot of news from the ustream live casts and twitter updates (as my Twitter followers can attest.)

Being over here, I feel like the only thing I can do is keep people aware. If it makes sense to, I wouldn't mind helping where I could, whether it meant just helping the local economy, or donating blood, or even just sorting clothing donations.

The closest I've ever come to seeing the devastation up close is when our church sent a group of young adults down to Waveland, MS to do some volunteer work. I talked about it last August here.

The images and stories that we'll come to learn, will likely sound very familiar.

A temporary church, where only the foundation of the church remained.

Remnants of a house.

A pedestrian bridge to nowhere.

We've already heard of some pretty nice stories of people working together to help people. Many companies have offered free services, whether it's just free drinks out of their vending machines or offering free wifi, or usage of their places. Apocalyptic movies usually have depictions of people acting in their own self-interest, but the reality is most people will try to help most people in times of need.

I'm hoping that the worst is behind us, and we can start working together to rebuild.

The force of nature may be great, but together, we can be greater.